Statewide Equipment Program

You are here


Ballarat Health Services' Department of Anaesthesia comprises 24 specialist anaesthetists, six registrars and two hospital medical officers. The specialist anaesthetists are a balance of full-time staff specialists and visiting medical officer anaesthetists, most of whom are members of Anaesthetic Group Ballarat (AGB).

The Department provides anaesthetic services to more than 10,000 patients per year covering all specialties except for Cardiac and Neuroanaesthesia.

We also provide:

  • Pre-admission Clinic (PAC) services for evaluation of patients prior to surgery.
  • A 24 hour acute pain management service including labour epidurals. This includes a daily follow up of post-operative patients on the pain round.
  • Evidence based Clinical Practice Guidelines covering aspects of peri-operative management.
  • The Department undertakes regular teaching and training activities including quality assurance, audit and clinical teaching.
  • Anaesthesia education:
    • Anaesthetic registrars have a dedicated Thursday morning teaching schedule run by Dr Mick Shaw, Supervisor of Training, ANZCA.
    • Medical students of the Rural Clinical School, University of Melbourne.
    • A refresher program is available for GP anaesthetists, run by Dr John Oswald, which attracts anaesthetists from across Victoria.

General enquiries

Telephone: (03) 5320 4590
Facsimile: (03) 5320 4591

Employment enquiries
BHS careers

Office location

Ballarat Health Services (Base Hospital site)
Level 1, Medical Services building, adjacent to Operating Theatre Suite (refer to map)


5 and 6 March 2016
RACV Goldfields Resort,
Creswick, Victoria